The Bear College Golf Club Shootout

Texas Region 1 - The Bear Shootout Tournament Summary

The stakes were high at the first ever NCCGA Texas Regional Tournament in Waco, TX. Baylor, TCU, SMU, and Texas A & M college golf club teams arrived at Cottonwood Creek GC on February 23rd with high hopes for the tournament and the future of the Texas Region. The weather was beautiful for round one. At 7100 yards from the tips and with the wind was blowing, Cottonwood Creek was no easy task. Nonetheless, TCU was ready to play, with their best two players firing the top individual rounds from Day 1 (Gould 76, Gilmore 77).

As a team, the Horned Frogs put together an impressive team score of 398. SMU, led by AJ Morris, followed closely with a team score of 411. A & M and Baylor followed with rounds of 424 and 431 respectively. The stage was set for a competitive Sunday afternoon round at Twin Rivers GC.

Drama ensued prior to play on Sunday morning as The Horned Frogs were only had 4 players compete, thereby disqualifying themselves from the team competition. However, Jose Gonzalez fired a solid 78 to win the individual medalist honor. The Baylor Bears college golf club team fought back with a day’s best score of 419. However, the strong effort was not enough to catch up to the SMU Mustangs and the A & M Aggies. SMU was led by team president James Stafford, who shot an impressive 78 on a very tough golf course. The team finished with a final score of 843, enough for a 6 shot victory over the Texas A & M Aggies.  A & M finished just one shot ahead of Baylor to achieve second place.

Overall, the first Texas Regional Tournament was a great success and both courses were incredibly helpful hosts. All four regional teams look forward to our second regional tournament to be played in early April at Shady Valley Golf Club in Arlington.

Top Teams

  1. SMU 843
  2. Texas A & M 849
  3. Baylor 850

All Tournament Team

  1. Jose Gonzalez TCU 158
  2. James Stafford SMU 160
  3. Joseph Nall TAMU 160
  4. Daniel Phillips BU 166
  5. Memo Saldana TCU 167
  6. Mikey McKinnon SMU 168
  7. Cav Neutze TAMU 169
  8. Colby Bilsky TAMU 170